Stretch Mark#2

This was my second stretch mark. On April 16,2010 I participated in the Day of Silence. It was to be silent the whole day,to support anti-LGBT bullying, name calling and harassment. I was silent for 2nd period,till 7th period. I did not go to first, because I came in late. Who ever participated had a pink slip, and all their teachers had to sign to show that they were silent through out the whole day of class. I had all my signatures signed, except for 1st period. In 2nd period we watched a videos and answer some questions. One of the questions said to predict the percentage of how many gays get harassed. I predicted it was 50%, and was surprised to see that it was actually 86.2%. I didn’t know how bad it was for LGBT. In the videos their are teens who say,”thats so gay.” Those teens don’t know that saying this is hurtful towards gay people. Just because they think something is stupid, doesn’t mean is gay and you don’t have to say,”thats so gay.” We also seen a movie for my 3rd period class, and answer some questions. It was not hard for me to be silent through out the whole day, because I don’t really talk a lot. I realize I only talk when I really need to, like if someone is asking me a question or when I’m w/ my friends. I learned that people need to watch what they say to others. People don’t really know people like they think they do. In class we learned that, its better to not know then to pretend you do know. Like when you criticize someone, you think you know them but you really don’t. I’m glad I did this, because it help me understand what LGBT go through. Its hard for them to come out because people are always judging.

Leave a comment